North Carolina has statutes of limitations for different types of lawsuits. A “statute of limitations” refers to the time in which an injured party must bring a claim for damages.
Failure to bring a claim or initiate a lawsuit within this defined period of time can prevent an injured individual from ever being able to obtain a recovery for their injuries.
This means that if you do not file a lawsuit within this time period designated for the type of case you are bringing, the court will dismiss your case.
It is important to understand and comply with the statute of limitations for North Carolina, as missing the deadline can result in losing your chance to recover damages or win the redress you are seeking.
The NC Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Matters!
If you’ve been hurt due to someone else’s negligent actions, such as an automobile accident, slip and fall, or medical malpractice, you should be aware of North Carolina’s personal injury statute of limitations.
Many personal injury clients believe they can bring a lawsuit against the liable party at any time. That is not the case.
If you have been injured, it is important to speak with an experienced North Carolina personal injury attorney as soon as possible to understand your rights and the statute of limitations that applies to your case.
You do not want to wait and accidentally miss the time for filing your lawsuit. If you miss the deadline, you will not be able to recover compensation and damages for your injuries.
The Charlotte, North Carolina personal injury and workers’ compensation lawyers at Mehta & McConnell are here to help make sure your rights are protected.
Our lawyers have over 30 years of experience in representing clients seriously injured due to the negligence of another.
North Carolina Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury
Generally speaking, according to N.C.G.S.§1-52 (16), the law in North Carolina provides for a three-year statute of limitations for personal injury cases.
This means that you have to file a lawsuit within three years from the date of injury. If not, then you might not be able to recover compensation for your injuries.
You can recoup the costs of medical expenses, lost time from work, and compensation for your pain and suffering. If you don’t file a lawsuit in time, you might be missing out on a significant amount of money.
Exceptions to the NC Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury
But there are exceptions to the three-year statute of limitations. In medical malpractice cases, you have at least three, and up to four, years to file a lawsuit if certain conditions regarding your type of injury are met.
In wrongful death claims, according to the North Carolina wrongful death law, a personal representative has two years from the decedent’s death to file a wrongful death lawsuit against the at-fault party.
Another exception to the general three-year rule pertains to minors under the age of 18.
For those individuals, they have to bring their claim for injuries no later than three years after their 18th birthday or within three years of the appointment of a guardian ad litem.
Contact a North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyer Today
Mehta & McConnell’s legal team has over 30 years of combined experience fighting for the rights of seriously injured people in North Carolina.
We understand what it takes to win the full and fair compensation you deserve. Contact Mehta & McConnell today to schedule an initial consultation to learn more about how we can assist you.